NaNoWriMoan… Seriously, Fuck November

welcome_to_the_nhk___satou_by_tabakogami-d9t4ymwBeing a contrarian sucks. It’s so hard to get motivated to do a task when something’s attempting to compel you to do it, instead of legitimately being compelled through natural excitement. National November Writer’s Month is about attempting to write 50,000 words before the end of the month. With 10% of that completed before I even realized we were four days in, the feeling that I should be writing this month made me really want to stop just to be a contradictory hipster to this farce. The fact that writers aren’t writing throughout the year is depressing, mostly considering the horrible writing this regular lack of practice is going to produce during this month. I shiver just to think of the amount of people who are going to be forced to read this garbage. 50,000 words isn’t even a good goal, it’s too short to be a proper novel and too large to be a novella!

Seriously though, I generally get excited when I get to write a fight scene! I had built up the entire beginning of this story, introducing characters and plot tools for this kick ass fight in chapter three and was just about to write it when I realized that this shit was going on. Now I can barely think of the choreography let along get excited about the magic I had built up for it. Why did the fact that I should be writing this month make me not want to write? As I said, I’m a contrarian. If I feel I should be compelled to do something, I really don’t feel like doing it, let alone feel compelled… to do anything really. This can be seriously debilitating to my motivation actually and it’s the reason I don’t have a real job. For instance, the only reason I’m writing this post is because I felt like I didn’t have to focus on my blog now that I have a project to work on. HAH! I sure showed me!

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NaNoWriMoan… Seriously, Fuck November

  1. Pingback: Meine Gedanken nach einem halben NaNoWriMo | Cygnus Reviews

  2. honya says:

    Haha! I totally get the “contradictory hipster” thing. Being pushed to do something is annoying.

Leave a Reply

