Fantasy Recommendations by Subgenres

fantasy novels 101Fantasy is a tricky genre to do a recommendations list for because it has such a wide variety of sub-genres under it. This being the case, no one can truly know what type of story they will be getting into when they are recommended a fantasy novel without first asking what kind of settings or characters it focuses on. With this in mind, I have organized my recommendations list by these sub-genres to help anyone who reads this to know what type of fantasy books they will be getting into if they decide to read them. Because many of these sub-genres overlap, I am going pair them up by how similar they are to each other.

Fantasy Recommendations by Sub-genres

This entry was posted in Brandon Sanderson, Codex Alera, Fantasy, First Law Trilogy, Harry Potter, Joe Abercrombie, List, Scott Lynch, Shannara, Sword of Truth, Way of Kings, Wheel of Time and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Fantasy Recommendations by Subgenres

  1. eesakow says:

    Thanks for putting this together, I’ve never heard of the Shannara Trilogy- I’ll have to give it a look.

  2. I guess I would be a science fantasy sort of guy. I loathed fantasy until my early twenties and only gave the genre a proper chance after beating Final Fantasy 9, which inspired me to check out other RPGs.

Leave a Reply

