Aldnoah.Zero & Zankyou no Terror [Double Anime Review]

Note to Reader: I’m going to try to make these as brief and as spoiler free as possible because the endings of both of these are amazing and I don’t want to ruin it for anyone.

I finished watching these on the same night and decided to write a review that coincided with this accomplishment (Yes, I know it’s sad considering that as an accomplishment).

32277-aldnoahzeroheaderMecha meets Stranger in a Strangeland in a war where the Martians (or Vers) are, surprisingly, more assholes than the human characters. There’s a lot of death in this anime especially at the beginning and around the end (too vague to be counted as a spoiler). Gen Urobuchi really lived up to his popularity in the writing, the main character in particular having dialogue that more than showed his cold logic badassery and it was a highlight of the show. The action was fast and clever and synced with its pretty awesome musical sore. Though the mech looked out of place in a few scenes it did a lot better than other series that utilize CG animation. Giving that this anime is only 12 episodes long I was immensely impressed with the amount the series accomplished in that small amount of time. By the end I felt more sympathetic to the characters than many 26 or even 52 episode series out there. The only downside was that it followed almost every other mech anime plot formula down to the smallest detail and though it was a bit more effective in its delivery one can’t help but noticing these tropes being used (or utilized if you consider this a good thing.)

Very Good 8/10

Zankyou-no-Terror-Anime-Wallpaper

I’m glad I finished Zankyou no Terror because it nearly lost me around ep6. Two terrorists execute a series of demolitions in which no one gets killed and that can be predicted by the mythological riddles they send over the internet. It’s essentially David Fincher’s Zodiac but with less killing and more explosions. Everything about this series tried to make it feel as realistic as possible with both it’s beautiful animation and somewhat mundane dialogue at times. But what made it stand out, like most Watanabe series, was Yoko Kano’s music. This carried the emotions of the characters even more so than the dialogue and during one scene in particular I caught myself trying to hold down a tear (Watanabe’s series do that to me sometimes). The series keeps you excited in a similar method to Death Note, with tension and mind games while at the same time not having the supernatural Macguffins most anime have these days. Once again it’s a short series at 11 episodes but I feel that anything more would have ruined it and that it was as long as it needed to be. However, the most important aspect of this anime is its originality. I ain’t seen nuttin’ liek dis befor.

Great 8.5/10

This entry was posted in Aldnoah Zero, Anime, Review, Zankyou no Terror and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Aldnoah.Zero & Zankyou no Terror [Double Anime Review]

  1. hlmwilki says:

    I quite liked the reviews of both animes. I’ve watched Aldnoah.Zero (first season) and you described it really well (I liked the fact that you even mentioned certain scenes were synced in with the music which was a great element for me).
    I stopped watching Zankyou no Terror as it lost my interest, but after your review I thought it would be worth watching it to the end to make a full assessment of it

  2. Kai says:

    I’m personally still on the fence on whether or not I really like Aldnoah Zero. New titles like these will take time to grow on me. Awesome music though, and I actually like the ending. It’s conclusive in it’s sort of way, at the very least. Although there seems to be a second season and I’m not sure if that’s a good idea.

    • Lazarinth says:

      I probably won’t watch the second season, the ending was all I wanted and it was unique in a way. I mean the way I see it the main character, by doing what he did, won against Slaine by making him live with the ending.

  3. Silvachief says:

    Both on my list, so i’m glad to see that you enjoyed them. Aldnoah has certainly been getting its share of flak though; how do you feel about that?

    • Lazarinth says:

      I haven’t read much flak but depends on the points made I suppose. If its about how it follows the general genius pilot to ship base to cooky bad guys to traggic ending formula that most mech anime have then I agree but I’d also say that it has a much better delivery than say most Gundams I’ve watched. If it’s about the ending I can say it’s not for the faint of heart and what some people might not call happy but it really made sense to me why the main character did what he did when you look at it, plus it has beautiful foreshadowing of what might come in the future.

      What flak exactly are you referring to? Could you link it/them to me?

    • Lazarinth says:

      Replied to his review in much the same way I replied to your Dangan Ronpa review. I wonder how he’ll take it. Always a good test of character to see how someone takes criticism.

  4. I’ll have to check out Zero as I like Gen Urobuchi’s work.

Leave a Reply

