What I’ve Wanted to Talk About Lately #2 – Religion Seems Rather Childish To Me

8051021_f260 Secondly: The thoughts some religious people have that seem rather childish to me.

Maybe it’s just me but thinking you have an invisible friend, be it a disciplinary father figure, an oddly neglectful all-powerful observer or the conscious embodiment of something in nature, seems rather childish.

Maybe it’s just me but thinking of things by plainly labeling them as good or evil, be it people’s actions, acts of nature or substances, without asking the difficult question of why we have come to these conclusions, seems rather childish.

Maybe it’s just me but thinking that people will face the justice of eternal agony in the afterlife, be it for things as simple as sexual preference or acts, disagreeing with a set of beliefs or even certain words we speak, seems rather childish.

Maybe it’s just me but thinking that the natural laws of the universe, which we have no evidence to think have changed since their arrival, went on remission with no repercussions on the whim of a few people, seems rather childish to me.

Maybe it’s just me but after seeing how these thoughts can lead people to dictate and try to control the actions and rights of others,
I think they need to grow up.

This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What I’ve Wanted to Talk About Lately #2 – Religion Seems Rather Childish To Me

  1. Luminas says:

    Atheists and religious people, over and over again, seem to be having the same argument without “actually examining” one another or their own beliefs. Atheists view the religious as shallow and intentionally ignorant, and the religious view atheists as shallow and intentionally ignorant.

    Personally….I don’t think either group is, as a whole, shallow or intentionally ignorant. Particularly when they commit to the same worldview for decades on end. You might think so…but one does that, as far as I know, and fails to really think about it.

    • Luminas says:

      no one*

      And on that note, why the hell is it that human beings spout the exact same kinds of retorts about people they don’t agree with regardless of religion? :p

      • Lazarinth says:

        “without “actually examining” one another or their own beliefs”
        What leads you to this assumption? I was religious for many years and I examine my beliefs on a daily basis.

        “Particularly when they commit to the same worldview for decades on end.”
        I really don’t think I share the same view as a fundamentalist Muslim. I can have my mind changed.

        “why the hell is it that human beings spout the exact same kinds of retorts about people they don’t agree with regardless of religion?”
        I agree you can have a few of these beliefs without religion, but having them all without some kind of guiding doctrine is a bit of stretch, these are the people I’m talking about.

  2. Pingback: Something More: Anime Nuns, Childish Religion, and Bye, Bye, Brynhildr |

  3. Silvachief says:

    Maybe it’s just me, but many of those seem like purposely inflammatory, unwarranted generalizations XD

    We’ve talked a bit about religion before, so you already know my general stance. I don’t think it’s religion or religious people you want to be targeting here, as what you’ve said simply doesn’t apply to all religions or religious people. I think it’s childish to dismiss multiple different groups of people as childish, while ignoring the way that many of those people benefit from their beliefs and do good because of them. It’s not the religion, it’s how the individual practises their religion.

Leave a Reply

